January 2014

Dear Fellow Alumni, and Friends of UERMMMC:

Two years ago, Jan. 23, 2012, we lost probably the most respected and admired alumnus of our school, Wilmer G. Heceta, M.D. He was considered by many as the UERM alumni ICON and to others, the ICON of the entire UERMMMC community.

Dr. Heceta was the first magna cum laude graduate and valedictorian of the pioneer class of 1961. He is remembered for his unquestionable loyalty and commitment to our Alma Mater. During his four 3-year terms (12 years) as Chairman of UERMMMC Alumni Foundation USA, Inc. (AFUSA), he was forward-thinking and mission-driven mentor who guided the Foundation to provide significant monetary and material assistance to our Medical Center.

He created and promoted his 333 Fund which is now re-named the Dr. Wilmer G. Heceta 333 Endowment Fund. His idea was to convince at least 300 alumni and friends to donate $333 or more for 3 years to complete a commitment. The Fund is an endowment so the principal amount is preserved and whatever investment-proceeds or interests-earned by the Fund will be a perpetual source of revenue to donate for the urgent needs of the Medical Center. Dr. Heceta appealed to donors by saying, “please, contribute a dollar a day to my Fund to help our Alma Mater”.

Let us transform Dr. Heceta’s dream into reality. Let us heed his appeal by contributing $1,000 or by installment of $333 for 3 years. Be one of 300 alumni and friends to join our newly-formed 333 CLUB to honor his memory.

The Foundation greatly appreciates your tax-deductible contribution to the “Dr. Wilmer G. Heceta 333 Endowment Fund” payable to UERMMMC Alumni Foundation, Inc. or UERMMMC AFUSA, INC. Donations can be sent to:

UERMMMC Alumni Foundation, Inc.
P.O. Box 2154
Bedford Park, IL 60499-2154

Or Via Foundation website: www.uermafusa.com/uermafusa-donation.html

Please help our Alma Mater maintain her mission of providing excellent health education and relevant health care delivery in the Philippines.

Gratefully yours,

F. J. 'Ned' Valen, M.D.
Chairman, Fundraising
Classmate and Spouse
Estherbelle A. Heceta, M.D.
Honorary Chairman
Isabelita B. Casibang, M.D.
Chairman of AFUSA

Online Seminar - Parliamentary Procedures

AFUSA Chair Dr. Isabelita B. Casibang will resume her online seminar on parliamentary procedures in early October. Trustees, officers, committee members, community volunteers and interested alumni are welcome. To join, please email her at ibcasibang@aol.com.

MAAAI Prospective Candidates for all Elective Offices in 2014-2016

President-Elect, Secretary, Treasurer, and Auditor must send their signed Letter of Intent of their candidacy and must be received by the chairman of the Nomination and Election Committee by postal mail not later than May 17, 2014. More information | Nomination and Election Committee Members

Here you will find a wealth of information about this foundation established by US-based alumni of the UERMMMC College of Medicine in the Philippines. We have organized this site into sections that will guide you through various aspects of our organization and its charitable work.

We update this website once a year but upload our online newsletter Aesculapius Ex as often as necessary to provide you with the latest information.

It is our hope that at the end of your visit, you will become a faithful partner, a generous supporter, and be proud as we are to be benefactors of quality medical education that produces highly competent, ethical and very compassionate physicians.

Thank you and come again! We welcome your comments and feedback.

Through the new Alumni page, you can now access information about the alumni association and its chapters, the alumni association in the Philippines, participating classes and others.

We have added downloadable AFUSA donation forms for mail-in cash and in-kind donations to the Make a Donation page, a fitting complement to the secure, convenient and easy online donation which has been in place since 2009.

The Newsletter page has been redesigned for easy retrieval of past issues. Aesculapius Ex dedicates its latest issue to the memory of the late Dr. Wilmer G. Heceta.

In the works is an Advertisement page.

Thank you very much. Mabuhay!

The goal of the Dr. Wilmer G. Heceta 333 Endowment Fund is to raise $1 million. So far, the program has accumulated close to $90,000. Let's all pitch in to reach our goal! $333 every year for 3 years. Donate now!